Yes, videos can be replaced at any time. To replace a video, simply delete the old version and upload the new revised version of the video.
Upload Quota Usage for Revisions
Currently, your upload quota usage isn't affected by replacing videos, i.e. the usage decreases as you a delete a video, allowing you to re-upload the video.
In the future, we plan to change this and will have two options for replacing videos:
- Standard Free Option: When replacing a video in the standard free mode, your new revised video will be added to a queue to be transcoded and will take time to be processed and ready for playback. The wait time can range between 30 mins to few hours.
- Priority Paid Option: In this mode, you will need to purchase a revision. The cost will be based on the size of the video and will be cheaper than purchasing additional quota. Your video will be instantly transcoded and available for playback & delivery right away.
This change for revisions is due to the transcoding costs we incur each time a video is uploaded. Videos are re-transcoded for each revision, adding to the cost. Therefore, we are planning to offer these two options, mentioned above.